Hospital and training begins in earnest

So I have 17 weeks to get myself sorted out before the Sandman triathlon in September – and it’s a daunting prospect. I’m relatively happy with the running and cycling (although there’s plenty of room for improvement), but swimming is my weakest discipline – I’ve never actually done a sea swim in my life. I’d better stop putting it off and get some time in the pool!

Unfortunately, my plans to get started earlier this week were put on hold as my daughter was rushed to hospital by ambulance. She was suffering from an Addisonian crisis, a medical emergency which is caused by extremely low levels of cortisol (the stress hormone). When this happens people with Addison’s need to be given an emergency injection of hydrocortisone which can buy precious time before the ambulance arrives.

Seeing our daughter like this really brought home to us how quickly someone with Addison’s can deteriorate. In the space of 30 minutes she went from complaining she was ill, to being lethargic and not being able to move or speak. The paramedic who treated her told us that in his thirteen years in the job, he had never met anyone with Addison’s or administered a hydrocortisone injection. This is yet another reminder of how rare the condition is.  However, we were able to take one positive from the experience: at least this paramedic is now better informed about the condition and hopefully, he’ll be able to pass his knowledge on to colleagues in the future.

Thankfully, she is now out of hospital with a medication plan in place for the next week. The doctors have instructed us to increase her doses of hydrocortisone from 30mg to 35mg. We also need to increase her dose of fludrocortisone (which mimics the hormone aldosterone, which regulates important things like blood pressure, sodium and potassium in the blood). Hopefully this will bring back the spark in my princess.

With our daughter hopefully on the mend, I was able to turn my attention to training. I spent time setting my bike up: making sure the seat is at the right height, the tyres inflated, chain oiled properly and such like.

I have cleats on the bike which I have never used before. This must have been all too apparent to the lady walking past as I fell off after about three seconds…! However, I was determined to continue and practiced about 30 minutes, starting and stopping, putting my feet in the peddles and taking them out again. I only fell off a further six or seven times – but felt positive with the progress.

Leave a Reply

